Icy Mornings

This is my first real winter in 12 years. I shared a post on my old blog about our move across the country from Phoenix to Chicago, but I have yet to really talk about it here on WordPress. While the east coast is under feet of snow, it’s been a relatively snow-free winter here in my neck of the woods. Regardless, the cold season has still taken some getting used to. In Phoenix, winter basically means that you’re not dying from the heat anymore. Here, winter means wearing more clothes on a regular basis than I have in over a decade.

While that sounds bad, all I mean is that my winter wardrobe in Phoenix was flip flops, jeans, and tank tops. Sometimes, even shorts and lots of skirts. If I was going to be out late at night, maybe a light sweater. Here in Chicago, my winter wardrobe is a long sleeved shirt, a sweater, leggings, jeans, and slippers. All the time. If I leave the house (yes, now you know that I’ve turned into a freakish hermit since the temperature dropped), I also wear tall winter boots, a beanie, and a real jacket. It’s strange, having so many layers between myself and my environment. It’s like I’m hamster in an exercise ball. I can see the world around me, but I’m out of touch with it.

So, for everyone who is still back in Phoenix, here’s a fun shot of what winter looks like in my house:

 photo Little Things.jpg
Yes, that’s ice and frost. Yes, it’s inside my window. While there is no wintery wonderland backdrop to my daydreams, the ice is a dead giveaway that it’s frigid outside. The moisture accumulates in the house, then it freezes overnight.

It’s like 72 F in my house, mind you. My windows apparently didn’t get the memo.

I’m not complaining, so don’t get me wrong. I am glad for a new adventure and for a completely different scenery replete with trees, squirrels, and the biggest lake I’ve ever seen. There are so many changes to get accustomed to, though.

I’ll talk more about my move in the coming weeks. For now, I wanted to share my icy mornings with you, from afar.

 

Leave a comment