Book Review: Broth and Stock from the Nourished Kitchen

I am insanely excited to have the opportunity to review this new book for you. Today, I’m talking about the book Broth and Stock from the Nourished Kitchen by Jennifer McGruther. Jennifer’s website, The Nourished Kitchen, is what got me into traditional foods like homemade stock in the first place. If you’ve never been to her website, and you’re a person who eats food or cooks, ever, you’ve got to go check it out. Do it now, even. I’ll still be here when you’re finished. She has a way of presenting information so that it’s not intimidating; it feels approachable.

 photo BrothnStock.jpg

This book is the same way. It’s approachable, and more than that, it’s gorgeous. I’m talking, I’m reading the recipes and my stomach is grumbling. The pictures are rustic with soups set against wood grain; the photographs are clear and clean-looking. I want to try all of the recipes. All of them!

I’ve been making broth and stock for three or four years now, so I’m not exactly this book’s target audience. I loved the idea of having a book to refer other people to, though. Anyone who is new to the whole process can easily feel overwhelmed, because this kind of cooking is a process. Making stock takes a lot of time in comparison to modern day American cooking, and the cooking process was a lot for me to wrap my mind around when I first started. This book is perfect for beginners. It gives a history of broth and stock, how to choose meat or bones, how to store stock once it’s made, and more, then it gets into the recipes. I found all of the beginning material to be useful, concise, interesting, and easy-to-read.

After the beginning chapter, the book gives 15 master broth and stock recipes, followed by 46 dishes (mostly soups, but a few other things as well) to make with those master recipes.

Because I cannot take gorgeous pictures anymore (one day soon, I hope!), I don’t have any photos to go along with my experience using Broth and Stock, so you’ll have to use your imagination. Go on. It’s good for you; you’ll like it. Imagine the heavy-scented chicken stewing on the stove for hours, penetrating every nook of my home with the promise of the meal to come, the onions sautéing in butter, and the final product, chicken soup, topped with glorious Mexican extras: creamy avocado, crispy tortilla strips, and spicy jalapenos sliced thin full of crunch and bite.

That was fun, wasn’t it?

I made the Yucatan-Style Lime Soup (Sopa de Lima) from page 81 in Broth and Stock. The entire time I was making it, I was like, “This is just a chicken and rice soup. Seriously… it’s just chicken and rice.” When it was all said and done, though, it was unlike any other soup I’ve made. All those touches at the end, including slices of lime that you squeeze over your bowl after you’ve served it, they make a basic soup amazing.

We all enjoyed it, and I have a few more soups lined up for next week.

Here’s the book’s picture of the soup we had:

 photo WIN_20160627_21_38_58_Pro.jpg

My photo does the book no justice, but I wanted you to get the idea.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in making soups from scratch, or who wants to learn why it’s beneficial to make your own stock and broth. I’m going to be hanging onto my copy for dear life, and recommending it to everyone. It’s a fantastic addition to my cooking shelf at home.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for this review. All opinions contained within this review are my own, and I am in no way obligated to give a positive review.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

