Brinkman Adventures: An Audio Production Review

I was recently invited to review an audio drama production by Brinkman Adventures; their Season 3 on CD. I was super excited to get the opportunity to do an audio production review knowing that we had a huge trip coming up and my kids really enjoy listening to stories while we are in the car. Today, I’m going to review our experience with Brinkman Adventures’ product and talk a bit about how we use audio books/audio productions as a part of our home school.

Audio Missionary Stories

What I Received:

I was supposed to receive Season 3 on CD. However, because we were getting ready to move right as this product was being shipped, I never received it in the mail. I don’t think they have any shipping issues at the company, I just think I missed the package or something due to my unique situation. Because of this, I e-mailed our ever-patient crew leader, and she gave me the link to the download. This product is available for purchase through both formats: either a physical CD or a download. The CD set is 4 CDs, and both versions come in at over 5 hours of listening time.

The download is 12 MP3 files, or episodes, and 10 stories total. 2 of the stories are split into part 1 and part 2, presumably for roughly uniform length of audio. I was actually a little concerned it might take a long time to download, but it was less than 30 minutes. Of course, your experience may vary based on your internet speed and the computer that you are using.

The Brinkman Adventures

Including Audio Productions in Our Homeschool Day

I really wanted to listen to all 13 tracks on our trip to Chicago (it took me four days with me driving the kids solo), but I didn’t have it on time. I try to really take advantage of the long drives we sometimes make, so we don’t all drive each other crazy and we get something good out of it as well. Even our trip into town used to take us 45 minutes, and that is a good enough chunk of time to listen to a story or two.

The other time I like to utilize is before bed. I don’t know about bedtime at your house, but ours can be amazing and fairly peaceful or absolutely chaotic and frenetic. If the kids know that they get to listen to something before bed, they are more likely to brush their teeth quickly, jammie up, and tuck into bed. I have a small, inexpensive radio upstairs in the kids’ bedroom that I use to play CDs on, or I bring my laptop into the little kids’ room and try to keep the light as dim as possible. The little kids lie on their beds, and the big kids lie down on the floor with a pillow until it’s over. By the time our story is over, the big kids are yawning and ready to fall asleep as soon as they get to their own beds.

Brinkman Adventures

First off, an audio production is a great experience because it’s not just someone reading a script; it’s sound effects, multiple actors reading lines, and it comes across more like hearing a movie than hearing a book read aloud to you.  While I also like audio books, a good audio production is more enjoyable. Brinkman Adventures puts on a great performance, and it was something that my whole family could listen to.

These stories are unique in that they are based off of true missionary stories, and that makes them even more exciting. My kids have enjoyed talking about each episode afterward, about what parts are true and about what makes being a missionary challenging and rewarding. I always enjoy exposing my kids to new cultures, new ideas, and new ways of thinking about their faith. Brinkman Adventures: Season 3 has started some good conversations with my family, and that makes it worthwhile in my mind!

 

If you want to read more reviews like this, click on the link below. The Review Crew is a talented group of hard-working homeschoolers who all take time to review curriculum products so that you can make more informed decisions about what you want to spend your homeschool dollars on. This is my last week working with these guys, and I am going to miss being a part of the Review Crew terribly! Please check their blogs out and see what they had to say, too!

 

Brinkman Adventures Season 3 ReviewLegal Stuff

Crew Disclaimer*This post originally appeared on BlogHer in November of 2015.*

Leave a Reply

