Book List Challenge 2015 – Updated

I got this crazy idea in my head last year. How could I get to know my family and friends just a little bit better? How could I get inside the way they see the world; understand them better? Since I am a self-proclaimed book nerd that rarely gets to read anymore, I thought, “How about reading one book that was recommended to me by each person I know?”

books movies goals

Now, I know a lot of people. I’m not bragging or anything, but it would be impossible to ask every single person I know what their favorite book is. So, I started out on Facebook and tagged those closest to me: friends, family, and my besties. I asked everyone to recommend just one book that was their favorite. You see, I think a person’s favorite book says a lot about a person. A favorite book is like something sweet and treasured that you dig up and dive into when you want to feel a certain way. A way that feels like home, like a warm fire on a cold winter’s day or your first cup of coffee in the morning while you watch the sunrise. There’s something special about your most favorite book in the world. I want to know what that is for my people; I want to know what makes them feel changed, alive, different, moved, or intrigued.

Of course, not everyone can follow the rules. I was told: The Lord of the Rings trilogy plus The Hobbit, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Circle Series by Ted Dekker, and the Alex Cross Series by James Patterson. That’s more than a year’s worth of reading in and of itself. Seriously folks, I love you but oh my goodness, stop it right now. Here is the rest of that list which I am going to attempt over the course of the next year of my life. Hello 2015. Hello giant reading list. I’d better carve out a comfy window seat piled high with pillows and plan on losing myself in it for the better part of the year.

1. The Door Within 

2. Kisses From Katie by Katie Davis

3. Odd Thomas  By Dean Koontz

4. Of Whom The World Was Not Worthy by Marie Chapian

5. Reconstructing Natalie by Laura Jensen

6. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

7. Safely Home by Randy Alcorn

8. Winesberg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson

9. The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom

10. Hinds Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard

11.  Brothers Karamazov by  Fyodor Dostoyevski (I started this one, but haven’t finished                it yet.)

12. Myth of a Christian Nation by Greg Boyd

13. What’s so Amazing About Grace  by Philip Yancey

14. Chasing the Dragon by Jackie Pullinger

15. Living on the Devil’s DoorStep

16. The Selection  by Kiera Cass

17. Tiger’s Curse

18. Little Men by Louisa May Allcott

19. The Sunflower, On The Limits of Forgiveness by Simon Weisenthal

20. Junk yard wonders (children’s book)

21. The Sign of the Beaver  by Elizabeth George Speare

22. Whitney, My Love by Judith McNaught

23. Radical by David Platt

I also have my own list of books I would like to complete this year including:

1. Insurgent by Veronica Roth

2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth

3. The Origin of the Species by Charles Darwin

4. The New Testament of the Bible

5. The Trumpet of the Swan (read aloud with the kids)

6. Huckleberry Finn (read aloud with the kids)

7. The Adventures of Scout (read aloud with the kids)

8. Walden by Henry David Thoreau

UPDATE:

When I wrote this list, I was not anticipating starting college in 2015. Not only did I start reading a LOT again this year, I fell back in love with having a book in my hands. I bolded the books I actually finished last year from the above list. As you can see, I didn’t make much progress. However, I have read at least 20 other books this year, so I’m counting it as a win. Friends and family who recommended books, I’m rolling my list over to 2016! Here’s to trying again.

Oh, and if any of you is on Goodreads, come join me so I can see what you’re reading!

One thought on “Book List Challenge 2015 – Updated

Leave a Reply

