Money-Saving Tips: College Books

For many families, this time of the year is all about getting their children back into a school routine, making sure they have everything they need for their classroom, and buying new clothes, shoes, and backpacks. For others, it means buying 50 pounds of textbooks for college, stocking up on coffee, and bracing yourself for long nights and hours of reading. I’m talking about the adult college student, because that’s what I’m about to be in a few short days when classes start.

I’ve done my share of buying books at the campus bookstore. When I was in college (quite a few years ago), the memory that stands out to me most was paying hundreds, yes, with an ‘s’, of dollars for a Math textbook only to have the bookstore tell me they couldn’t buy it back at the end of the semester. Not only did my professor choose to not use the text, but I also had a wonderful doorstop at the end: a book I couldn’t use and couldn’t sell back.

Now, there are loads of resources available online for buying books, but I actually found a new one, so I wanted to share it with you today: Amazon Student. This service gives you the same benefits as Prime, but you pay 50% less. There’s also a free trial, so you don’t have to pay for it right away. If you still have textbooks to order, free 2-day shipping is a life-saver (thank you, Professor who just posted the book list today!). Amazon is already a great website for saving on books in general, but Amazon Student makes the deal that much sweeter.

Do you have any other resources for college students? Great deals I should know about? Comment below; I’d love to hear from you!

**This blog was originally published on BlogHer 8/14/2015.**

Leave a Reply

