My Stovetop Pizza Adventure

I found this awesome video in my Facebook feed today, and I knew I had to try this for myself. This chef cooks up pizza in a frying pan, on the stove top, in just 20 minutes, with one pan and no bowls. You know what they say about things that sound too good to be true…

I have made a few pizzas in my kitchen. My husband, back before he had a “real” job, was a pizza maker and delivery man, and I am an avid bread maker. Between the two of us, we kind of have this pizza thing down. I was very intrigued by the idea of cooking a pizza on the stove top though, and I will try anything once.  I pulled out all the ingredients I knew I would need for pizza: flour, yeast, sugar, oil, baking powder** (to replace the self-rising flour in the video), sauce, pepperoni, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and mozzarella cheese.

I watched the video as I was cooking to get the measurements right, pausing it, adding ingredients, and then playing a bit before pausing again. I was on a roll. I got everything prepared, put the lid on the pan, set a timer, and inhaled a deep, satisfied breath. Then, I looked at the counter: the olive oil was still sitting there, untouched, looking abandoned in the mess on the counter.

I hadn’t touched it.

I played the video over again, watching each ingredient go into the pan: no oil. In a moment, I realized that I made a dough with no oil whatsoever, and that beastly pizza was going to stick something fierce.

And I had no idea how high to heat my pan. My pizza started smelling like pizza 5 minutes into the last 10 minutes of cooking time. I couldn’t tell if it was done because it was under a steamy lid. I panicked.

I pulled up the website to find out that this video is mostly an ad for how awesome this huge saute pan of theirs is. And it does look awesome, but I don’t use nonstick pans. Cue deep sighing and irritation. I did find out that you should cook the pizza at medium heat for 5 minutes, then medium-low heat for 10 minutes.

When my pizza was done, it looked like this:

pizza!

Kind of like pizza, but messier. The kids didn’t seem to notice. They just cried out, “Pizza!” and set to devouring the cheesy, gooey pile on their plates.

Pizza Pan

My pan, on the other hand, was a nightmare. The whole bottom of that delicious concoction was stuck permanently onto the bottom in a big, black disk of dead bread.

Because I am a glutton for punishment, I gave it a second try. I added 3 hearty splashes of olive oil to the dough and mixed it in a bowl instead of in the pan. I omitted the yeast and added 1 Tbsp of wheat bran to give it a crispier crust. I oiled the pan, pressed in the dough, added my toppings, and then followed the cooking directions.

Pizza Perfect

My second efforts were well-rewarded. I got to serve my husband a piece of pizza that actually looked like pizza. It came out like a deep-dish pizza with a perfect, hearty crust to hold all the toppings I piled on.  The best part:

My second pan was practically clean when I pulled the pizza off the stove!

So, if you were wondering if this was possible in a “regular” pan, it is. We had a yummy pizza lunch, I just had to alter things a bit. Honestly, I do that to every recipe I come across anyway. If I change nothing, it just doesn’t feel right.

What’s your favorite pizza recipe?

**self-rising flour is flour with added ingredients so it will rise for biscuits and such. You can obtain the same results with regular flour and 1 &1/2 tsp baking powder.

***This post originally appeared on BlogHer.com May of 2015.***

Leave a Reply

