Tips for Road Trips With Small Children

There is an epic road trip in my future. I’m talking three days in the car, single driver, many roads unbeknownst to me, and a seemingly endless supply of miles to put behind me as I head toward a place I’ve never seen. When I was younger, I loved this kind of adventure. It was like the caffeine in my veins, a jolt of adrenaline that nothing else but a road trip could deliver.

Apparently I’m getting old.

Having four kids has sucked the spontaneity from my bones. I’m nervous, not excited. I should be excited. I’m going to keep saying that until I get excited. Oh my, how I love those sweet faces, their hugs, their incredibly stupid and hilarious jokes:

“Knock-knock.”

“Who’s there?”

“Banana.”

“Banana who?”

“Cashews.”

This is from my two year old. It never fails to make me laugh.

I love their morning hair and the way they scream when they get really excited about something.

I’m still a little overwhelmed with the idea of spending 3 days driving with this crew of adorable munchkins.

A few friends of mine have pitched in their advice for road trips and living out of a small space for a time.

Bring a DVD player.

Bring your crockpot for when you get there.

Don’t pack everything in the world or you’ll make yourself crazy.

Don’t get stressed out over making lots of stops. Anticipate them. Plan them. We do this already on short trips, but I have to remind myself!

Have special toys on hand for utter boredom moments.

I also plan on bringing books on CD, my GPS and a paper map so I don’t get lost (a very real fear for this ADD momma!), plenty of snacks, and car games.

Have you ever traveled a long distance with small children? Do you have some advice for me? I need all the help and prayers I can get!

**This blog was originally posted at BlogHer on 9/23/2015. It actually took us 5 days to reach our destination, and I’m happy to say that we survived after much adventure. These were all excellent tips for the trip. I would also add: bring a travel toilet for little girls, bring more hand sanitizer than you think you need, and use books on CD/Adventures in Odyssey for much-needed “quiet” time.**

Leave a Reply

