Koru Naturals: A Second Body Products Review

I was given the opportunity to do a second review for Koru Naturals this year. Of course, I jumped at the chance to try their products again; this time I received their Manuka Honey Propolis Soap, Skin Clear Cream, and Argan Oil and Sandalwood Hair Tonic. I love that this company creates products I can actually use. I have eczema, which sometimes flares up uncontrollably when I use anything, be it soap, shampoo, hair products, cleaners, etc. I have not had any issues whatsoever with Koru Natural’s products that I’ve been able to use, and that is huge for me!

Koru Naturals

What I Received and How I Used it

For this review, I received three products. The Skin Clear cream comes in a plastic tub. Inside the tub is a thin plastic lid and a plastic stir stick/spoon that you can scoop cream out with. Honestly, I wasn’t really sure what to do with the stick, but some ladies said that it’s so you don’t dip your fingers directly into the container and contaminate it. This makes the cream last longer. I didn’t know this. It just goes to show you, I don’t use many products on my face.

Skin Clear Cream

Ultimately, the packaging is supposed to keep all the cream in until you remove the lid, but mine was so runny that every time I opened it, there was enough cream on top of the inner lid that I never had to open it all the way. It was very runny, like a syrup. This may be because it is still hot here in Phoenix, I don’t know. Also, with kids in the house, things get tipped and moved around a lot.

I used the cream on my face right after I washed it, and even though it seemed greasy at first, I never had any skin breakouts because of it and it absorbed pretty quickly. The smell was interesting: kind of sweet, but with a citrus-y, sharp scent that overpowers it. It wasn’t a bad smell, but it wasn’t very feminine smelling like I thought it was going to be. It does contain manuka, or tea tree honey, so if you already use something with tea tree oil in it, you know what type of smell I am talking about. It’s not bad, but it is different.

Over all, I like that I can use this cream on my face, which can be crazy greasy or dry depending on what is going on. I believe that it works great for both skin types and I’ve never even tried another moisturizer on my face, so I’m thankful to find one right off the bat that works for me. I don’t have to suffer from bad face breakouts just to find out that something doesn’t work for me. This product is a keeper.

Manuka Honey Propolis Soap

This soap came shrink wrapped and packaged in a beautiful little box. I thought it looked perfect if you wanted to give it as a nice gift for someone who likes natural body products. The soap itself is an interesting shape; it almost looks like a gemstone on the botton, cut at interesting angles to make it look really pretty.

Manuka Honey and Propolis Soap
After using it, my hands felt like I’d just used a glycerine soap and smelled very faintly sweet. The smell dissipates quickly, and it’s pretty light to begin with. I had no issues with my skin breaking out after using it, and I’m very happy with the soap. I would buy it again.

Argan Oil and Sandalwood Hair Tonic

I asked for this product based on mine and my daughter’s hair. We both have curly hair that is prone to frizz and flyaways. I thought that this would help eliminate tangles, give our hair some shine, and control the frizz a bit.

Argan Oil and Sandalwood Hair Tonic

This product comes in a pump bottle and is an oil, so you put a tiny bit in your hands, rub them together, and then rub it lightly into your hair. The first time I used it, I completely threw reason to the wind and used too much. My hair is very porous as well, so it sucks up product like nobody’s business. Because of this, I usually have to use more of everything. That turned out to be a bad idea; my hair fell incredibly flat and looked greasy. I vowed to show restraint the next time and used only a dot of it on my daughter’s hair. Her hair looked nice and shiny, but it also fell flat and lost its curl.

The second time I used it on my hair, I only used a dab, far less than what I thought would even be effective. It made my hair very shiny and nice, but my curls fell flat again. Verdict: not for my kind of curly hair. I have big, loose ringlets and I will continue searching for the perfect product for my hair.

I think this product would be great for someone with straight hair or mostly straight hair who is looking for a bit of shine and to add oil occasionally for hair health.

 

Final Thoughts

I really like Koru Naturals. I was a little heartbroken when I got to the end of my shampoo and conditioner a few months ago and I hadn’t had the foresight to order more before I ran out. It’s my all–time favorite shampoo and conditioner. I really liked the bar soap that I received, and I love their emu oil for skin. They offer great products, and I would love to try some of the things I haven’t seen yet. I will be ordering from them in the future; they’ve hooked me as a customer for sure.

 

If you want to read more reviews like this, you can visit the link below. The folks that work hard as part of the Review Crew have all tried and tested different products by Koru Naturals. They are a great group of ladies (and one guy!) who deserve a little pampering, so this review was much enjoyed by all of us!

 

Koru Naturals ReviewLegal Stuff:

Crew Disclaimer**This post was originally written on BlogHer October 23rd, 2015.**

Leave a Reply

