Koru Naturals – A Body Products Review

    I was recently sent three amazing products from Koru Naturals to test out and review on my blog. I used their Emu Oil , plus their Manuka Oil and Honey Shampoo and Conditioner for a month. I used them on my skin and my kids’ skin, and now I get to share all the nitty gritty about them with you. I wasn’t paid in any way for my opinion, and I have no reason not to put my honest-to-goodness thoughts down on paper, er, in my blog. So, here we go:

 Koru Naturals

Emu Oil

 Emu Oil - Koru Naturals

    I will admit, I was a little weirded out about putting animal oil on my skin. I don’t know why, maybe just because I haven’t done it before. I wasn’t sure what the health benefits of emu oil were, so I went and checked out Koru Naturals’ website. They say it is hypoallergenic, won’t clog your pores, and is good for skin as a moisturizer or on hair as a conditioner.

    I got the 2oz bottle of Emu Oil, which retails at $9.85. They sell larger volumes as well if you are interested in a bigger bottle. I have really horrible eczema on my hands, so I am very leery of any new products, to be honest. Even products that say they are hypoallergenic often result in a flare-up of my eczema.

Quilting Love + Koru Naturals

The first time I used it, I put a tiny drop on the back of my hand and rubbed it in. I was pleasantly surprised; the oil soaked into my skin quickly and didn’t leave me feeling greasy. It is scent-free and did not cause my skin to break out. The next time I used it, I tried a little bit more and covered the whole back of my hand. Once I knew it wasn’t going to cause any issues at all, I started using it on my whole hands as a moisturizer. I also used it on my kids’ skin. It’s winter here and the kids get pretty dry skin; this is an excellent moisturizer and you can’t get more natural ingredients. I like it better than coconut oil because it absorbs faster so I don’t have to worry about leaving greasy handprints everywhere. I even tried it on my face and it truly didn’t clog my pores.

Manuka Honey and Oil Shampoo and Conditioner

Manuka Honey and Oil Shampoo and Conditioner - Koru Naturals

    I was even more excited yet still hesitant to try the shampoo and conditioner. I looked over the list of ingredients and fell in love: Manuka honey, Manuka oil, lavender, peppermint, chamomile, and rosehip oil. However, I don’t touch shampoo or conditioner, ever. I really wanted to try it out, but I didn’t want to touch it. You see, soap of all walks of life and my skin do not get along. When I got brave enough to try it, I was again pleasantly surprised. My skin didn’t burn, itch, tingle, or flare-up from using it.

    One warning though: it is invigorating; I’m talking hold-on-to-your-horses-I-hope-you-really-want-to-be-awake kind of invigorating. It is minty (without burning your scalp), but I wouldn’t use it right before hoping to drift off to a lovely dream land filled with cups of coffee that never get cold and where that unfinished project actually gets completed, perfectly. That being said, I really like it.

Quilting Love + Koru Naturals

Finding a shampoo and conditioner that I can actually use is like winning the lottery, just without the whole money thing. I’m really excited. I wish I could emphasize this more. Just picture me jumping up and down excitedly and whooping like I just watched an incredibly talented tightrope walker cross over a rope of fire; that comes close.

     The set of shampoo and conditioner retails for $14.95 and if your order is $35 or more, you can get free shipping. With things like lanolin creambotanical beard and mustache gloss, and organic, cold-pressed rosehip seed oil (which is also excellent for reducing itchiness due to eczema in my experience), it’s pretty easy to find $35 worth of great products to fill your virtual shopping cart with.

If you want to read more reviews by my very talented cohorts on The Review Crew at The Old Schoolhouse, click below. You won’t be disappointed.

Koru Naturals ReviewAnd the legal stuff too:Crew Disclaimer**This post was originally published on BlogHer February 28th, 2015.**

Leave a Reply

