Things I’d Never Say in Phoenix That I Catch Myself Saying Now

It’s been awhile since I’ve shown my face around WordPress. For that, I apologize. It’s been a crazy year for me. I did so many homeschool curriculum reviews that my BlogHer site began to suck all my blogging time out of me, I started going to college a few months ago at Arizona State University, I started my second novel for NaNoWriMo, and I moved from Phoenix, AZ to the Chicago Metro area. We’re a tad over the state line and actually in Indiana, but let’s just say Chicago; its easier. Because it’s been awhile and I’ve missed it here, I thought I’d drop in and post something fun.

Here are the top 5 things I’d never utter in Phoenix that I regularly say here:

1. I don’t want to drive that way because it’s going to cost me like ten bucks!

Yes, the toll roads are that bad. I took the kids to the park and it cost me NINE dollars. Also, my GPS once took me in a loop that cost me EIGHT bucks. When I was done paying my eight dollars at four toll stops, I was back where I started. Thank you so much, GPS.

2. If you don’t wear your jacket, you’re going to freeze.

This is a given, but it has to be said. My kids don’t understand that they have to bring a jacket everywhere. When the wind kicks in, it gets cold, and it’s not even Winter yet.

3. We’re waiting for the hottest part of the day to go play outside.

Just saying that threw me into hysterical peals of laughter. I can’t get over how different things are now. The hottest part of the day in Phoenix is like death. Here, it’s a tad too cold to send the baby out first thing in the morning. We wait for it to warm up. Even in the Winter I didn’t do that in Phoenix.

4. Look at that squirrel!

Cliche, I know, but it’s true. The squirrels come right up to our back porch and snoop through my stuff out there. I know they exist in Phoenix, but I’ve never seen them in my yard. Everyone runs to the door to look when a squirrel runs by. We’re like a bad ADD joke.

5. Want to go to the beach today?

I can’t get over the fact that we’re 15 minutes from the beach and the forest. It feels like a fantasy. I keep waiting to wake up and realize that we’re back in the desert. I’m spending every possible day at the beach or hiking through the woods, even in the cold. Who knows, maybe I’ll take up snowshoeing this Winter.

Thanks for staying by my side, dear reader. I will be moving my entire BlogHer blog over here to WordPress this December, and then I’ll be around a whole lot more. I hope you enjoy being able to subscribe to my posts, peruse the site without looking at a page full of ads that are not family friendly, and seeing what the future holds for me and my family. It’s been a complete faith in God thing, us moving here, so I can’t wait to see what He’s going to do in our lives!

Leave a Reply

