What’s With Homeschooling? Part II

Last week, I started talking about what is up with this whole homeschooling thing. This week, I am going to get into a lot more reasons why we made this choice for our family. It’s been a great experience for us, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

We homeschool because I was never challenged enough at school because I was “ahead of the class” and my husband was never challenged because they gave up on him and he never caught up. He is an amazing and talented man. It is a shame that was his experience in school. We love our kids and we teach them every day. I run myself ragged most days because I want the very best, the most fun, the greatest discoveries that we can squeeze out of each day. I want my kids to learn at their own paces, and I want to cater to their strengths and challenge them in their weaknesses.

We homeschool because I love it. I love that we are blessed with the ability to have me at home with my children. I love that we are not a slave to the public school system’s schedule and vacation days. I love that we can go to the zoo any day of the week at any time. I love seeing my kids learn and hearing them repeat things weeks, months, and years later that they have learned. Not every day is amazing, but we aim for the stars and overall, I do love it.

We homeschool because we cannot afford private school. Ah, wouldn’t that be nice? Unfortunately, once you have four kids, that can get crazy expensive. We are just not rich like that. I am alright with that, too. I am happy to see my husband every night at home and not killing himself at work for things we don’t need.

We homeschool because God has called our family to it. I know this is where I am supposed to be, at home with my children. We had a brief experience with the public school here and it further reinforced that God wanted us to homeschool.  I don’t know if we will homeschool through high school, and I don’t know if I will homeschool all of my children. I trust God each day to get us through and keep us on track. This calling is not for every family, and it doesn’t make us any better or worse than anyone else. It’s part of what makes us unique.

We homeschool because I’ve thought the concept was amazing since I was in grade school, because I’m self-taught at nearly every skill I have, and because I want my kids to learn about life too, not just about “school”.

I hope that the next time you see or meet a homeschooling family, instead of wondering what they are doing wrong, you wonder about what they are doing right. I hope you see that we are all trying to parent the best we can each day and that we are all in this together. I hope you try to be understanding, just like I try to be understanding of others’ choices that don’t mirror my own. Most of all, I hope you don’t assume I’m doing something wrong when you see that my kids are not in a schoolroom; we are probably just out snagging lunch before we go to a museum, a park, or the zoo. There’s a great big world out there; I don’t want to miss it sitting in a room staring at four walls all day.


This post was originally “penned” in 2013 and is a part of the ongoing, monumental task of moving over an entire blog. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

