Peanut Butter Banana Bread

We did some serious work in the kitchen today. I was in hard core prep mode today because the homeschooling convention is tomorrow and I have 5 people to get out the door around 6:30 in the morning so we can drop off the kids, remove three car seats from our van, make it to a chiropractor appointment, and then to the convention which starts at 9:30 tomorrow in downtown which is an hour away. We don’t do anything but full speed around here.

A lot of people have been asking me for recipes for things lately.  Which I get. I mean, when I go to someone’s house and I think something is awesome, I’m kind of inclined to ask the same thing…sort of. I’m usually more like, “What is this?” about a specific ingredient I don’t know. The problem is, I am not a good recipe follower. Which means I’m not a very good recipe giver either. I know that not everyone is like this, so I actually kept track of what I did today while baking, so you can really see how weird I am when I cook. And why I usually can’t tell you what the recipe is. Us creative types, we have a tendency to do things a little differently.

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Here’s the recipe (as written on my recipe card)

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

1/2 C Butter

1 C Sugar

2 Eggs

3/4 C Peanut Butter

2 Bananas, mashed

1 C Whole Wheat Four

1 C White Flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 C chopped walnuts (optional)

Combine eggs, butter, peanut butter and sugar (use a mixer). Add remaining dry ingredients except nuts. Mix.  Fold in nuts gently.  Bake 70 minutes @ 325 F

Now, just some notes on that to begin with. I have made this recipe probably 20 times and I have NEVER used walnuts. I’m not even sure why I wrote that on the recipe card. I kind of hate walnuts; I think they taste like dirt. 1/2 C of butter always seems like too much to me, so I never use that much butter. I always substitute part of it or all of it, even. 3/4 C of peanut butter is like half a jar. Which is usually more than I have on hand because we go through peanut butter like a houseful of women goes through toilet paper. That’s probably a bad analogy, but it’s getting late and it’s all I’ve got. Anyway, I substitute like crazy. And not just this recipe. Every recipe (unless I’m making it for the first time) gets something changed in it. And it’s different every time I make it. I don’t like to do things the same way every time. So, I usually can’t remember what I put in something. Which is a bummer when something is the best and I don’t write down what I did.

I wanted to use rice flour; and make a double batch as well so I can send some with the kids for breakfast tomorrow. My rice flour didn’t turn out as flour-y as I would like. Anyone want to buy me a Vitamix? I did my best with my not-so-awesome blender to turn my organic brown rice into rice flour. I used 1 C as a sub for 1 C of whole wheat flour. I also added 1 apple to the mix after I realized that some of the rice was chunky and it probably needed to soften up a bit if I didn’t want crunchy bits of rice in my bread. I also added a shot of water, blended it all up and let it soak while I threw the rest of it together. Slightly unconventional. I know. My thoughts were, I use applesauce as a butter substitute all the time.

Rice/Water/Apple Mix

While the boys and I were mixing, Princess got hungry. She bit into a banana through the skin, and then picked up an apple about as big as her head and proceeded to chow down. I had to stop to take a picture, because she is really too cute for words. I’m a little biased, I know…it’s cliche. But, I adore my babies!

Apple!

I only had three bananas, and I hate the pre-mashing thing because it requires an extra bowl to wash at the end of it, so I never do it.  This means you have yummy chunks of banana-y goodness instead of a well blended batter. I like it that way, though. I also added cinnamon, because I think everything is better with cinnamon. I am quite partial to Penzey’s Spices; they rock my world. Their cinnamon smells like no cinnamon I have ever bought at a store. This is just the tip of the iceberg with the Penzey’s goodness, but that’s a whole ‘nother topic.

My Favorite Cinnamon

My recipe I used today looked more like this:

Peanut Butter Banana Bread (makes 2 loaves)

1/2 C Butter

1 3/4 C Rapidura (a really flavorful, less processed sugar)

4 Eggs

1 1/2 C Peanut Butter

3 Bananas, mashed

1 C Whole Wheat Four

2 C White Flour

1 C Rice Flour (plus a dash of water and one apple, cored and peeled; blended)

2 tsp baking soda

Good measure of Cinnamon

See what I mean? I think if I wrote that on a recipe card, you would be like, “Um…thanks.”

And the next time I make it, it will be different.

So, for today’s version, I wish I’d had that extra banana (or two!). I missed it. I also don’t think I’ll attempt to process rice in my blender again (I wish my old one hadn’t burned up!) because the crust was…crustier…than I would have liked. Too crunchy.  I’m sure it was the rice. Of course, none of this stopped my kids from coming back for seconds, and thirds.  I’m not sure where they put it, really.

See the Banana Goodness?  Oh, yeah!

After all of this, we made homemade ice cream too. I know, so healthy today, right? But it was so good, I’m making no excuses…it was just delicious so I don’t care that it wasn’t healthy. Then meltdowns ensued, and it was nap time. So, no, my life is not perfect. But, I did enjoy getting to make something from scratch after a long, dry stretch in the kitchen.

So, the next time you ask me for a recipe, now you know. I’m off to scrub dishes and hopefully get to bed before midnight.  Take Care!

This post was originally “penned” in 2012 and is a part of the ongoing, monumental task of moving over an entire blog. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

