Lysol Wipes Are NOT for Nurseries!

Now, this may sound super grumpy to you, but I constantly see people wiping down food surfaces and toys around my kids with Lysol wipes. If you use them, I urge you to reconsider.

Lysol and Clorox wipes are not for nurseries! Lysol wipes and clorox wipes contain ammonia. Good for disinfecting? Yes. Good for toys? NO. I’m continually finding that people don’t read labels. When I say people, I include myself. I used to think that using a clorox wipe was the same as cleaning with clorox bleach. It is not. They bear the same name, but they are not the same product. That, and they both bear a label that explains how to use the product. If you can bring yourself to read to the end, it will tell you that surfaces that come into direct contact with food require a potable water rinse after you use the wipes on them. Extend this logically, and surfaces that come into direct contact with an infant/toddler’s mouth should be rinsed with water before you give them to your kids.

I think every nursery I have ever been in has a canister of these sitting on a shelf somewhere. If you’re using them to clean surfaces like changing tables, wipe on. If you’re using them to clean toys or plastic tables and chairs that are mouthed and sucked on, or have food placed on them, maybe you could consider changing your cleaning product. I have yet to meet anyone under 5 years of age who always places their food back on the plate it was intended to be on. So, even if you don’t set food directly on a table, your kids probably do. Unless you have children of the perfect variety; in that case, they probably don’t suck on toys either. You can just move right along. For the rest of us, we have to consider: do you want to clean it twice? Kind of takes the convenience out of a handy wipe, doesn’t it? I don’t know any mom who would say, “Yes! I want to clean it twice!”

My solution? I clean with vinegar, which is a great disinfectant and a food product to boot, so no worries there. The smell does dissipate after a short time, and you don’t have to clean twice. There are also tons of other natural cleaning options available on the internet if you don’t like that idea. I’ve found that it’s the cheapest and least complicated. I also use baking soda for my ‘other’ cleaning needs.

Just remember: Lysol wipes are NOT for nurseries!

This post was originally “penned” in 2012 and is a part of the ongoing, monumental task of moving over an entire blog. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

