Why Mommy Needs Her Quiet Time #7

Today we got up and out of the house earlier than usual. We had to drop my husband off at work so we could go to soccer this evening.  This means eating breakfast in the car and it means I don’t get a cup of coffee until we get home.  Which is fine. I love my morning coffee but I won’t die without it. This morning though, I really wanted to wake up and make this pumpkin spice coffee creamer I keep seeing on BlogHer. I have been looking forward to it for days.

Then, as my husband was reminding me that I needed to get out the door with everyone, I realized I wouldn’t get my delicious coffee; not this morning anyway. I was a little bummed. I didn’t even have time for a plain cup of coffee because getting four kids and myself out the door in the morning is a monumental task.

When we were driving home, my kids asked if we could stop at the park. It is gorgeous outside finally and I couldn’t help but say yes, so we had an impromptu park playtime this morning instead of starting school right away at home. I love that we can do that whenever we want to! Yay, homeschooling! After a potty stop, playtime, soccer drills, the drive home, snacktime, phonics, math, diapers, dishes, laundry, singing songs for my potty training princess, and laying everyone down for quiet time, I still hadn’t managed to start the coffee pot. It was now 1:30.

I went back to the recipe for the creamer and realized that the blogger is a vegan. Which is fine, but I’m not vegan. I like my milk and my cream. I like my creamer to be cream-y. I had rice milk on hand but I equate that with dumping water in my coffee. Not my idea of amazing. I hemmed and hawed about what I should do with my limited time. I had some pumpkin spice chai tea mix that I bought at Trader Joe’s a week or so ago. It makes a really thick soup-y nastiness in the bottom of the cup, so I’m not super hip on it. The flavor is nice, but the mouthful of spices and stuff in the last 1/4 C or so is off-putting. So, I get this brilliant idea to add a scoop of it to my coffee in my drip coffee maker. I’m thinking that it will add some spice and flavor but the gunk will stay in the filter.

When I came back, this is what I found:

Coffee overflow!

The dreaded coffee overflow! Apparently my machine also didn’t like how thick the mix was. So, today’s reason why I need my quiet time is because after cleaning up my fat mess of burning hot coffee grounds, I got to sit down at quiet time and have a cup of coffee, finally. And you know what? It actually tasted pretty delicious!

Leave a Reply

