Chickens!

Pullets The frustrating thing about moving toward self-sufficiency is how slowly everything seems to go. For instance: we dug holes to plant fruit trees and then ran out of funds. I have lots of holes waiting patiently for something to fill them. My husband and I have talked about getting a small flock of chickens for the backyard for years. Yes, years. Like it was a far-off dream, we kept talking about “one day.” As it turns out, for the chickens at least, today is that one day. Pretty exciting stuff, if you ask me. Now, I am not an expert animal-raiser. In fact, if you know my track record with animals as of late, you probably think I am uber un-qualified to raise up anything living. Maybe it’s not that bad, but I feel like that some days. Anyway, It’s going to be a learning process with the ladies, but having fresh eggs is such a tempting and wonderful thought. I cannot wait until our girls grow up. What post would be complete without some wonderful pictures to go along with it? Here are two of my favorite girls (and here’s to hoping they are girls): Eloise pullet This one’s named Eloise pullet-general grievous This is General Grievous. The Toolman named him. I really hope General Grievous is actually a lady, but that’s a little awkward if he is a she. I think being self-sufficient is all about knowing where your food comes from, raising or growing what you can, buying locally, and learning how to make and fix things for yourself. It’s a long and trying process for the two of us who didn’t grow up learning how to garden, prepare for the future, raise animals, or produce instead of consume. We are baby stepping though. On that note, any advice for raising a backyard flock of chickens?

3 thoughts on “Chickens!

  1. Michelle says:

    We love our chickens! I was on the fence forever too about actually getting them but I got a coop (converted shed) last year for Mother’s Day. The fresh eggs are amazing but the things my children have learned from them are priceless. The Chicken Chick has been a great resource for information for us as newbies
    P.S. I love the names. Ours are all named after Star Wars characters. Though Princess Layer is my favorite.

    Like

  2. Shelly says:

    You will love having chickens! Getting that first egg is the BEST! Teach them to come when you call – 1) because it’s fun to see them come running and 2) there will be times you need them to. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

